Valentine's Day canvases on display

Easy Valentine’s Day Canvas Tutorial

Yes, I know it has just turned 2016, everyone is still fun-hungover and broke from the holidays. But I am having a major need to create, and Valentine’s Day is the next holiday in need of decoration!

So, I present to you an

VDayCanvasPin

Supplies:

  • 2 Canvases (mine were 9 3/4″ x 8″)
  • Acrylic paint in festive colors (I used a pink and a fuchsia)
  • Brush(es)
  • Modgepodge
  • Glitter (I used gold and a magenta)
  • X-Acto Knife to make cutting the outline easier, but scissors will work just a well
  • Tape

Step 1:

Paint your canvases!

Pink and fuchsia canvases

My Pink and Fuchsia Canvases drying!

Let these dry overnight. I had to do a few coats on the pink and several on the fuchsia to get it to be non-streaky looking.

Step 2:

Create your outline! I used Pages to drag and drop a heart outline, and make a outline for XOXO. If you want something a bit different, go for it! Otherwise here are the PDFs for what I used:

Heart outline

oxox

Print and cut these outlines out and tape to your dried canvas. Now your ready for the FUN part (or not so fun depending on your stance on glitter).

Step 3:

Paint some Modge Podge into the outline, make sure you get it all the way to all the edges!

Painting Modge Podge into the heart outline

Painting Modge Podge into the heart outline

Apply glitter liberally to outline..

glitter on outline

#TeamGlitter! Also for the XOXO you will need to cut and tape in place the center of the O!

Remove stencil and voilá!

Fun Valentine’s Day canvases!!

Valentine's Day canvases on display

Perfect for my mantle!

Let me know how yours turns out! Supergirl loved helping, but this could also be a fun girls’ night-in craft time! Tag me on Instagram (Follow Me here) for your finished product!

XOXO (ahhh see what I did there? haha),

Catie

Follow Me On Pinterest!

 

Leave a Reply

